of India


Osmanabad And Its 8 Tehsils

Created on Thu, 10-03-2016

Osmanabad And Its 8 Tehsils

Osmanabad, earlier known as Dharashiv, is a district in the Marathwada region of Maharashtra. It is primarily a rural district which is surrounded by Beed to the north, Gulbarga to the south, Latur district to the east and Ahmednagar to the North West.   

There are primarily 8 sub-districts or tehsils in Osmanabad district.

  • Bhoom- The town of Bhoom is the administrative capital of Bhoom tehsil. Prior to the Independence, the district was under the Nizam territory. The ancient Jain temple of Kunthalgiri and the Alam Prabhu Temple are some of the historical places of the district.
  • Kalamb- Located in the Balaghat mountain range, it is one of the 8 tehsils  in the Osmanabad district. It is surrounded by the river Manjira and Tirna on both the sides. According to 2011 census, the city has a population of 2,19,711.
  • Lohara- Lohara Tehsil, located on the Deccan plateau is one of the talukas of Osmanabad.  According to the 2011 census, Lohara tehsil has a literacy rate of around 75 percent.
  • Umerga- Umerga town is the administrative capital of Umarga tehsil. The main language of the tehsil is Marathi followed by Kannada.
  • Osmanabad- Osmanabad tehsil in the Osmanabad district consists of about 110 panchayat villages. The tehsil consists of five revenue circles such as Ter, Padoli, Bembli, Dhoki and Osmanabad.
  • Paranda- Paranada tehsil located in Osmanabad distric  has a population of 1,40,436 according to the 2011 census.
  • Tuljapur- Tuljapur town is the administrative capital of Tuljapur tehsil. The tehsil is made up of 107 villages.
  • Washi- Washi tehsil of Osmanabad district has 100 percent rural population and a gender ratio of 934 females per 1000 males.



Latest Citizen Guide